Welcome to hunting-license.org, your comprehensive resource for all your hunting license-related services
The services we provide are available for free n the official sites or local offices. You can purchase for $23.98 and download our guide which containts vital information in order to perform any hunting related services and also includes a Safety Course Practice Test, audiobook & coupons. By clicking continue I represent that I am 18+ years of age. I agree to receive email newsletter and special offers targeted to my interests, sent by hunting-license.org and their Marketing Partners. I agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.
Texas Hunting Laws and Regulations
Get Started Now With Your {State} Hunting Guide
Get info about your hunting license with the {State} Game and Fishing Comission now.
  • Select which type of license and tag you need
  • Take the safety course
  • Take the practice test
Get your license now
1
2
3
TRUSTe online privacy certification
By clicking continue I represent that I am 18+ years of age. I agree to receive email newsletter and special offers targeted to my interests, sent by hunting-license.org and their Marketing Partners. I agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions. We do not process any type of application on your behalf, we provide our Hunting License Guide and other added benefits that will be delivered to your email.
Welcome to birdhunting.com, your comprehensive resource for all you hunting license-related services. The services we provide are available for free in the official sites or local offices. You can purchase for and download our guide which contains vital information in order to perform any hunting hunting related services and also includes a Safety Course Practice Test, audiobook & coupons. By clicking continue I represent that I am 18+ years of age, I agree to receive email newsletters and offers targeted to my interests, sent by hunting-license.org and their Marketing Partners. By continuing to use our site, you accept our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Learning the Texas hunting season for different species is important before you get out in the field, but there are a variety of other rules and regulations you need to follow as well. Hunting regulations are set by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD), which is also responsible for issuing licenses and monitoring the harvest of wildlife.

Many hunting laws remain the same from one year to the next, but it is also possible for TWPD to enact new policies each year. For example, seasons and bag limits can change annually, and certain hunting areas may open or close each year based on the current population of wildlife. For that reason, it is important for all hunters, no matter how experienced, to be aware of the current regulations. In the sections below, learn more about hunting seasons in TX and discover all of the regulations hunters need to know before planning a trip.

Texas Hunting Restrictions for Youths

Some of the most important hunting information to understand is the laws relating to youth hunting. Regulations for hunting in Texas do not prohibit any age group from getting out into the field. However, some youths will need to be supervised in order to hunt legally. Any hunter younger than nine years of age must be accompanied by a licensed hunter who is at least 17 years of age and has passed a hunter’s education class. Once a hunter is between nine and 16 years of age, he or she will need to get certified in a hunting education class and only hunt under the supervision of a licensed hunter who is 17 years of age or older.

The TPWD has also established special youth hunting seasons that allow minors 16 years of age or younger to hunt for a certain period of time before or after adult hunters if they wish. There are youth seasons for species such as white-tailed deer, waterfowl, turkeys and squirrels. Many of the hunting laws in Texas apply to youths in the same way that they apply to adults. However, there are also special rules that only apply to youth hunters. For example, youths may not be required to purchase the same tags or permits that adults need to have in order to take certain types of wildlife.

Click here to get your informative guide to hunting in Texas.

Hunting Seasons in Texas

Many regulations for hunting in Texas relate to the seasons in which you can take specific types of animals or birds. There are a wide range of factors that affect the seasons that you are allowed to hunt in. Be aware that hunting seasons in TX can vary based on the following:

  • Your age and the type of hunting license you have, such as a youth or adult license.
  • The type of tags or endorsements that you have.
  • The species you are hunting.
  • Which zone you are hunting in.
  • What type of weapon you are using, such as bow, rifle or muzzleloader.
  • Whether or not you are a landowner hunting on your own property.

It is also important to understand that the hunting season for a single species can vary from one year to the next and it may be different in certain zones of the state. For example, if the population of a certain species becomes too low in one area of the state, the TWPD may restrict or limit the season to help the wildlife reach a healthy population level again.

The TWPD also may provide unlimited hunting seasons for certain types of animals and birds that are unprotected or are deemed to be a nuisance. For example, it is usually legal to hunt coyotes or feral hogs on private property at any time of the year with the landowner’s authorization. As long as you meet the requirements, you can also take nongame animals such as mountain lions, rabbits or prairie dogs without following a specific season.

General Texas Hunting Regulations to Follow

While many hunting rules exist to manage the wildlife population, there are also many laws put in place to keep you safe in the field. First, wearing fluorescent hunter orange is required when out in the field unless you are hunting on private property. Even when you are not required to wear orange, it is still highly recommended, as it increases your visibility and therefore your safety. Second, you are not allowed to hunt from public roads unless you have a permit to take reptiles or amphibians that may be found on or near roads. Third, the laws for hunting dictate the time of day that you are allowed to hunt. You are only allowed to hunt starting one half-hour before sunrise and ending one half-hour after sunset.

While these are some of the more important regulations, it is necessary to review the other hunting information available from TPWD so that you can stay safe during your hunting trip.

Texas Hunting Regulations for Chronic Wasting Disease

Chronic wasting disease, otherwise known as CWD, is a problem in several hunting areas throughout Texas. CWD affects members of the deer family, including deer, elk and moose among other species. Because CWD is impossible to eradicate once it enters into a population of wildlife, it is important for all hunters to follow hunting regulations that were enacted to help manage the disease and keep it contained.

Hunters who shoot deer and other similar species in a CWD management zone must have their harvest inspected at a TWPD check station. Those who hunt outside of a CWD zone are still encouraged to visit an inspection station as a precaution.

New Hunting Regulations in Texas

Hunting restrictions in TX can change from one year to the next, so it is important to check the regulations each year before getting out in the field. It is a hunter’s responsibility to know all of the laws that relate to his or her license, and a hunter can be penalized for failing to follow the rules. Regulations that may change on a regular basis include:

  • The bag limits for certain types of species.
  • When hunting seasons start and end.
  • The way that hunters tag or report a harvest.
  • The types of tags and endorsements available.
  • Which zones are open or closed for harvesting certain species.